Vulnerability record · CVE-2026-82329 · published 28 August 2026
CVE-2026-82329: JFrog Artifactory improper authentication allows admin takeover
Jfrog · Artifactory
JFrog Artifactory contains an improper authentication weakness (CWE-287) that, under default configuration, may let an unauthenticated attacker with network access obtain administrative privileges. Because the flaw is reachable without credentials and grants full admin rights, it is a severe risk to any exposed instance. The record does not specify which versions are affected.
Description
JFrog Artifactory contains an authentication weakness that, under default configuration, may allow an unauthenticated attacker with network access to obtain administrative privileges.
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
Automated analysis
critical priorityUnauthenticated network-reachable flaw yielding administrative privileges, rated CVSS 9.8 and listed in CISA KEV as exploited.
What it is
JFrog Artifactory contains an improper authentication weakness (CWE-287) that, under default configuration, may let an unauthenticated attacker with network access obtain administrative privileges. Because the flaw is reachable without credentials and grants full admin rights, it is a severe risk to any exposed instance. The record does not specify which versions are affected.
Impact
An attacker gains administrative control of the Artifactory instance, which can expose stored artifacts, credentials and build pipeline data and allow tampering with the software supply chain. The CVSS vector rates confidentiality, integrity and availability impact as high.
Attack surface
Reached over the network (AV:N) with no authentication (PR:N) and no user interaction (UI:N), so any internet- or network-exposed Artifactory endpoint is a candidate target. The description ties the weakness to default configuration, meaning unhardened deployments are the primary exposure.
Exploitation
CISA added this CVE to the Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on 2026-09-02, indicating known exploitation in the wild. EPSS gives a 30-day probability of 0.07666 (94.3rd percentile), and no ransomware campaign use is documented.
What to do
- Apply the vendor fix from the JFrog security advisories and release notes; CISA's KEV due date was 2026-09-05, so treat patching as urgent.
- If no patch is available for your version, follow CISA BOD 26-04 guidance for cloud services or discontinue use of the product.
- Remove Artifactory from direct internet exposure and restrict network access to trusted management networks until patched.
- Review and harden default authentication configuration, and rotate administrative credentials and tokens after remediation.
- Audit for unauthorized admin accounts, configuration changes and anomalous artifact activity.
Detection
- Hunt for authentication events that result in admin-level access from unauthenticated or unexpected source IPs.
- Alert on creation of new administrative users, API keys or tokens outside change windows.
- Monitor for configuration changes to authentication and security settings in Artifactory logs.
- Correlate network access to Artifactory endpoints from external or untrusted ranges with subsequent privileged actions.
This assessment is produced automatically and is not human-reviewed. Verify against the vendor advisory before acting on it.
Exploitation in the wild
CISA added CVE-2026-82329 to the Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on 2 September 2026 as "JFrog Artifactory Improper Authentication Vulnerability". Required action: Apply mitigations in accordance with vendor instructions, ensuring compliance with CISA’s BOD 26-04 Prioritizing Security Updates Based on Risk (see URL in Notes) guidance and CISA’s “Forensics Triage Requirements” (see URL in Notes). Follow applicable BOD 26-04 guidance for cloud services or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable. Stakeholders are responsible for evaluating each asset's internet exposure and ensuring adherence to BOD 26-04 patching guidelines. Federal deadline 5 September 2026.
Affected products
1 vulnerable configurations from NVD's CPE data, grouped by vendor and product.
References
| Link | Tags |
|---|---|
| https://docs.jfrog.com/releases/docs/artifactory-self-managed-releases | Release Notes |
| https://docs.jfrog.com/releases/docs/jfrog-security-advisories | Vendor Advisory |
| https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2026-82329 | Third Party AdvisoryUS Government Resource |
Track CVE-2026-82329 inside VULONE
Watch it alongside the ransomware crews, C2 infrastructure and forum chatter that reference it, query it through the API and pull it into your SIEM over TAXII.
Related vulnerabilities
Same products first, then exploited flaws of the same weakness class.
Source: NIST National Vulnerability Database (record CVE-2026-82329), CISA KEV, FIRST EPSS (scores of 2026-09-26). This page is refreshed as NVD updates the record.