Vulnerability record · CVE-2025-66644 · published 5 December 2025
CVE-2025-66644: Array Networks ArrayOS AG command injection exploited in the wild
Arraynetworks · Arrayos Ag
ArrayOS AG before 9.4.5.9 contains an OS command injection flaw (CWE-78) that is reachable over the network without authentication. It has been exploited in the wild from August through December 2025, and CISA added it to the KEV catalog on 2025-12-08 with a remediation due date of 2025-12-29.
Description
Array Networks ArrayOS AG before 9.4.5.9 allows command injection, as exploited in the wild in August through December 2025.
CVSS:3.1/AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:H/I:H/A:H
Automated analysis
critical priorityCVSS 9.8 with no authentication or user interaction required, confirmed in-the-wild exploitation, and a CISA KEV listing with a near-term remediation deadline.
What it is
ArrayOS AG before 9.4.5.9 contains an OS command injection flaw (CWE-78) that is reachable over the network without authentication. It has been exploited in the wild from August through December 2025, and CISA added it to the KEV catalog on 2025-12-08 with a remediation due date of 2025-12-29.
Impact
A remote unauthenticated attacker can execute arbitrary OS commands on the appliance, which press reporting links to webshell deployment on exposed VPN gateways. That gives full compromise of the device with high confidentiality, integrity and availability impact.
Attack surface
Reachable over the network via the CVSS vector AV:N/AC:L/PR:N/UI:N, meaning no authentication and no user interaction are required. The description does not specify the exact interface or parameter, so the precise entry point is not stated in the record.
Exploitation
Active exploitation is confirmed: CISA KEV lists it as exploited in the wild, and press coverage describes webshell planting on ArrayOS AG VPN devices. EPSS 30-day probability is 0.03415 (88.3rd percentile), and no ransomware campaign use is documented.
What to do
- Upgrade ArrayOS AG to 9.4.5.9 or later; this is the only stated fix.
- If patching cannot be completed before the 2025-12-29 KEV due date, apply vendor mitigations or discontinue use of the product per CISA guidance.
- Remove internet exposure of the ArrayOS AG management/VPN interface where operationally possible, and restrict access to trusted networks.
- After patching, treat the appliance as potentially compromised: rotate credentials and certificates and inspect for unauthorized files or accounts.
- Monitor vendor and JPCERT advisories for updated mitigation instructions.
Detection
- Hunt for unexpected webshell files or new scripts in web-accessible directories on ArrayOS AG appliances.
- Review appliance and web logs for command-injection patterns or unusual process execution around the August-December 2025 exploitation window.
- Alert on outbound connections or new listening services from the ArrayOS AG device that do not match baseline behavior.
- Check for unauthorized accounts, scheduled tasks or configuration changes on the appliance.
This assessment is produced automatically and is not human-reviewed. Verify against the vendor advisory before acting on it.
Exploitation in the wild
CISA added CVE-2025-66644 to the Known Exploited Vulnerabilities catalog on 8 December 2025 as "Array Networks ArrayOS AG OS Command Injection Vulnerability". Required action: Apply mitigations per vendor instructions, follow applicable BOD 22-01 guidance for cloud services, or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable. Federal deadline 29 December 2025.
Affected products
1 vulnerable configurations from NVD's CPE data, grouped by vendor and product.
References
| Link | Tags |
|---|---|
| https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/news/security/hackers-are-exploiting-arrayos-ag-vpn-flaw-to-plant-webshells/ | Press/Media Coverage |
| https://www.jpcert.or.jp/at/2025/at250024.html | Third Party Advisory |
| https://x.com/ArraySupport/status/1921373397533032590 | Third Party Advisory |
| https://www.cisa.gov/known-exploited-vulnerabilities-catalog?field_cve=CVE-2025-66644 | US Government Resource |
Track CVE-2025-66644 inside VULONE
Watch it alongside the ransomware crews, C2 infrastructure and forum chatter that reference it, query it through the API and pull it into your SIEM over TAXII.
Related vulnerabilities
Same products first, then exploited flaws of the same weakness class.
Source: NIST National Vulnerability Database (record CVE-2025-66644), CISA KEV, FIRST EPSS (scores of 2026-09-28). This page is refreshed as NVD updates the record.